The Journey Begins

Thanks for joining me!

Good company in a journey makes the way seem shorter. — Izaak Walton

post

Welcome to Vegan(ish)

So here we are, at the end of Veganuary and I find myself (with my husband and 2 sons in tow) at a bit of a dietary cross roads. Having successfully completed our first month without consuming any animal products, what do we do now? Are we full-time vegans? Vegetarians? Flexitarians? (I know, I know! What even is that?) or do we head back to our pre-January omnivorous ways?

We live in a world where we have so many life choices that we feel pressured to make and share. We live with so many labels. We announce to the world, our sexuality, our preferred pronouns, our political views and increasingly there is the expectation to define our dietary choice. Labelling it, ‘I’m a vegan’ or ‘I’m pescatarian’. Well, I’m here to tell you that as of this moment ‘I’m Vegan……ish’.

For 35+years I have been an omnivore, which I think is becoming a dirty word but we’ll come back to that another time! For the last 4 weeks I have been Vegan….. no ish. A full blown, riding the Veganuary wave, cooking from my Bosh cookbook, smashed avacado loving vegan and to be honest I’ve loved it but… and it’s a big BUT… can it be sustained???

That is what I want to explore in this blog, the dietary adventures (ok, I’m embellishing a bit, more like mediocre anecdotes) of a busy, working wife/ mum trying to make the right choices for her family…….. oh yeah and the planet, just a small issue. We’ll cover that one another time too!

So, thank you for popping by Vegan(ish). See you again soon! x

3 Replies to “The Journey Begins”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started